etlosa.blogg.se

Easyboot edge test
Easyboot edge test







I also use this stretch to help determine heel height on club hooves. Assuming he has a good range of motion and can extend the leg I can then decide to lower the heels based on his extension capabilities. It's important to do this a couple of times and form an assessment based on multiple attempts. Through this we can measure the horse's range of motion and comfort level. The stretch test is when I extend his leg forward and straighten the the knee, and then fully extend the fetlock and pastern. It's important to perform the "stretch test" to determine his ability to extend the DDFT's before deciding how much to lower his heels. This poor horse just has the deck stacked against him.ĭealing with the contracted tendons is tricky. This horse has bi-lateral contracted tendons, which means both DDFT's on his front legs are short, and also has a club foot on his front right, and a suspensory injury on that front right. I thought I would take a minute to explain this horse's situation and how I handle it. I got a lot of interesting comments when I posted this picture on social media the other day. ​I will update this case study with more picutres next time I see her. This horse has very thick bone, and will naturally have a slightly longer heel then the average 1.25 inches because of that.įrom a metabolic standpoint this horse is on low sugar hay in slow feed nets placed around her paddock to increase movement, I also suggested adding biotin to her diet to help with hoof growth, and rechecking her ACTH levels to make sure her Pergolide dosage for her PPID is effective. I also tried to lower the heels to realign the bottom of the coffin bone. I also tried not to touch the sole at all, what I did trim on the bottom was the overlaid bars and overgrown frog. There is so much separation in this hoof wall. In the pictures above you can see the huge lamellar wedge. The owner purchased Easyboot Clouds to keep this horse comfortable moving forward and we plan to trim every 3 weeks to start. This was a step in the right direction to restore function and set up the new growth for coming in. While this trim seems fairly drastic, I am sure I could have done more if I had current x-rays.









Easyboot edge test